Connect with us

2027 Women's World Cup

‘Dream come true’ Brazil selected to host 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup

Brazil will host the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2027 for the first time in the nation’s history

Brazil's Debinha celebrates with Marta.
Photo Copyright Mike Watters for USA TODAY Sports

For the first time in the nation’s history, Brazil will host the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2027. The decision was announced at the 74th FIFA Congress in Bangkok, Thailand. Brazil received 119 votes to beat a joint bid from Belgium, Netherlands and Germany. The latter received 78 votes. 

“When I woke up and saw the news, that was like a dream come true,” Debinha said in a statement provided to The Equalizer by the Kansas City Current. “I am so happy for the new generation to have this opportunity to play at home in front of our fans, our families and friends. I am sure after that women’s soccer in Brazil will keep improving so this is a victory of ours, for Brazilians, so we can show the world the Brazilian culture, the happiness and the soccer.” 

Debinha, who joined the Current as a free agent in 2023, has 61 caps with the Brazil national team. That includes a pair of World Cups in 2019 and 2023. She is one of a dozen players from Brazil competing in the National Women’s Soccer League this season. 

Brazil legend Marta echoed her sentiment in a statement posted on social media.

“I am sure that the 2027 Women’s World Cup will be a success, and the Brazilian people will, as always, be with open arms to welcome the world football community.”

The United States and Mexico were also in the running until withdrawing three weeks ago to focus on the 2031 tournament. South Africa made the same decision in Nov. 2023.

Brazil will be the first South American nation to host the prestigious tournament. However, Brazil has hosted the men’s tournament twice. The most recent was 2014.

Former host nations for the women’s side include China PR (1991 and 2007), Sweden (1995), the United States (1999 and 2003), Germany (2011), Canada (2015) and France (2019). Australia and New Zealand and hosted together in 2023. 

Brazil was eliminated in Group play at the 2023 Women’s World Cup. It was their first group-stage exit since 1995 and marked a disappointing end to the career of Brazilian legend Marta. The furthest Brazil has advanced was a runners-up finish in 2007. They fell 2-0 to Germany that year.

“For us to host the football world and host the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Brazil for the first time, will lead to more women and young girls playing football in schools, in parks, at the beach,” president of the Brazilian Football Confederation Ednaldo Rodrigues said in a statement to FIFA. “That legacy will lead to women being more included in the football world and will showcase their ability to take up other positions in football.”

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2027 is expected to take place between June 24 and July 27. In Brazil’s original proposal, the final would be July 25 at Estádio do Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro. Their proposal included 10 host cities with existing stadiums: Belo Horizonte, Brasília, Cuiabá, Fortaleza, Manaus, Porto Alegre, Recife, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and São Paulo. Capacity at those stadiums ranges from 42,788 to 73,139.

2027 Women’s World Cup format

The Women’s World Cup began in 1991 with 12 countries. It expanded to 16 in 1999 and 24 in 2015. The tournament expanded again in 2023 to include 32 teams for the first time. Teams were organized into eight groups of four with the top two from each group–16 teams–advancing to the knockout stage. The Round of 16 and Quarter-finals are single elimination, then semifinalists will compete in either the final or third-place match.

Celebrate the WNBA’s 28th season! 

Get started with a paid subscription, which helps support all of our writers, editors and photographers who work tirelessly to bring you this coverage. In honor of the WNBA’s 28th season, we are offering memberships for 28% off. That’s only $51.84 to get exclusive access to everything we have to offer for a year!

World Cup Qualification

Qualifying tournaments are held within the six FIFA continental zones: Africa, Asia, North and Central America and Caribbean, South America, Oceana and Europe. Each zone is awarded a certain number of berths based on the strength of teams in its federation. 

FIFA Club World Cup

FIFA also announced the addition of a Club World Cup during Congress. The Club World Cup will take place in January and February 2026 and will include 16 teams. So far, FIFA has not revealed much other information like competition structure, qualification or a host site. 

Your account


More in 2027 Women's World Cup