Connect with us


Jess Fishlock named 2021 NWSL MVP

Photo Copyright Lewis Gettier for The Equalizer

OL Reign midfielder Jess Fishlock has been named the National Women’s Soccer League’s 2021 Most Valuable Player.

Fishlock scored five goals and added four assists while helping the Reign earn the No. 2 seed in the playoffs. She played in all but one match this year.

Fishlock has been a staple of the Reign franchise since the first season of the NWSL, in 2013. She was part of a dynamic midfield trio which won the NWSL Shield in 2014, when teammate Kim Little was named MVP.

“If you speak to most people around the league and ask the coaches if they could take one player from our team, it would always be [Jess],” said OL Reign head coach Laura Harvey. “I think that’s just a compliment of what she’s always brought to this team. The journey that she’s been on to get to this point has been phenomenal. I’m glad that she’s getting some recognition that she deserves.”

Fishlock will also receive a cash bonus from Budweiser for winning the award, according to the NWSL.

Voting Breakdown:

Preliminary Round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%), Media (25%) and Players (50%) Final Round: Players (50%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Fans (10%).

Full list of NWSL MVPs

2013: Lauren Holiday, FC Kansas City

2014: Kim Little, Seattle Reign FC

2015: Crystal Dunn, Washington Spirit

2016: Lynn Williams, Western New York Flash

2017: Sam Kerr, Sky Blue FC

2018: Lindsey Horan, Portland Thorns FC

2019: Sam Kerr, Chicago Red Stars

2021: Jess Fishlock, OL Reign


Your account


More in News