Connect with us


NWSL announces USWNT, Canada allocation list for 2021 season

Photo: Jason Roberts/Envision Sports Media

The allocation list for the 2021 season, for players on the U.S. women’s national team and the Canadian women’s national team, has been released. Some new names are on the list, with Kristie Mewis and Jane Campbell being new additions.

The full list is blow, listed in order of teams, with players picked by Canadian head coach Bev Priestman and U.S. head coach Vlatko Andonovski.

Yesterday, the Portland Thorns FC announced the re-signing of Crystal Dunn and Lindsey Horan to new three-year contracts, with the use of allocation money. Both players are now off U.S. Federation contracts and freed up spots for new players, including their teammate Sophia Smith.

According to the NWSL, nine players are allocated this year between the U.S. and Canada that weren’t allocated in 2020.

Canada had a few significant changes, including Erin McLeod becoming an allocated player for the first time since 2015. Meanwhile, Quinn is an allocated player for the first time since 2018, and Bianca St. Georges is a first-time allocated Canadian player.

For the U.S., new or returning allocated players includes Midge Purce, Andi Sullivan, Lynn Williams, Campbell and Mewis.

Not allocated in 2021 by U.S. Soccer are Morgan Gautrat and Allie Long. For the Canadians, Shelina Zadorsky of the Orlando Pride, but currently on loan with Tottenham Hotspur, is no longer allocated in 2021.

There are 22 players allocated from U.S. Soccer and 10 from Canada Soccer.

The NWSL season kicks off in April with the Challenge Cup, and then regular-season play will commence in May.

Full NWSL Allocation List (U.S. and Canada)

Chicago Red Stars

  • Tierna Davidson (USA)
  • Julie Ertz (USA)
  • Casey Krueger (USA)
  • Alyssa Naeher (USA)
  • Mallory Pugh (USA)
  • Bianca St. Georges (CAN)*

Houston Dash

  • Jane Campbell (USA)*
  • Allysha Chapman (CAN)
  • Kristie Mewis (USA)*
  • Nichelle Prince (CAN)
  • Sophie Schmidt (CAN)

Kansas City

  • Desiree Scott (CAN)
  • Diana Matheson (CAN)

North Carolina Courage

  • Samantha Mewis (USA)**
  • Lynn Williams (USA)*

Orlando Pride

  • Ashlyn Harris (USA)
  • Ali Krieger (USA)
  • Erin McLeod (CAN)*
  • Alex Morgan (USA)

OL Reign

  • Rose Lavelle (USA)**
  • Quinn (CAN)*
  • Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Portland Thorns FC

  • Adrianna Franch (USA)
  • Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
  • Christine Sinclair (CAN)
  • Sophia Smith (USA)*

Racing Louisville FC

  • None

Sky Blue FC

  • Carli Lloyd (USA)
  • Margaret “Midge” Purce (USA)*
  • Kailen Sheridan (CAN)

Washington Spirit

  • Kelley O’Hara (USA)
  • Emily Sonnett (USA)
  • Andi Sullivan (USA)*

* = New Allocated Player in 2021

** = Player who will receive an allocated salary from U.S. Soccer should they return to the NWSL for the 2021 Season


Your account


More in International