Connect with us

2023 Women's World Cup

FIFA to choose 2023 World Cup host in online vote on June 25

USWNT World Cup
Photo Copyright Daniela Porcelli for The Equalizer

The host of the 2023 Women’s World Cup will be decided on June 25 via online vote, FIFA announced on Friday. The 37-member FIFA Council will decide between four bids: Brazil, Colombia, Japan and a joint pitch from Australia and New Zealand.

FIFA delegates finished on-site inspections of each country in late February, just before the COVID-19 pandemic shut down the sporting world and most conventional travel. Inspection visits are key components to bid assessments, in addition to the bid books each country submits. Evaluation reports of each inspection are expected be published on in early June.

The 2023 World Cup is set to be the largest in the competition’s history, expanding the field to 32 teams for the first time.

“FIFA remains committed to implementing the most comprehensive, objective and transparent bidding process in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup” FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura said in a press release. “This is part of our overall commitment to women’s football that, among other things, will see FIFA invest $1 billion in women’s football during the current cycle.”

Voting will be made public on A simple majority (more than 50%) is enough for any of the bids to be selected as host; that would mean receiving at least 19 of 37 votes. If that is not achieved in the first ballot, the bid receiving the lowest number of votes will be eliminated for the next round. The full procedure can be found here.

Earlier this week, FIFA announced that the U-20 and U-17 Women’s World Cups due to take place in 2020 had been moved back. The U-20 World Cup, hosted by Costa Rica and Panama, will now take place from Jan. 20-Feb. 6, 2021. The U-17 event, to be hosted by India, will take place from Feb. 17-March 7, 2021. Original age eligibility will remain for both events.


Your account


More in 2023 Women's World Cup