Connect with us


Megan Rapinoe, Jill Ellis win big at the FIFA The Best Awards

Photo Copyright Daniela Porcelli for The Equalizer

Megan Rapinoe and Jill Ellis took home the gold once again.

The U.S. women’s national team striker and manager took home the top honors in women’s football at The Best FIFA Football Awards. Rapinoe won her first-ever The Best Female Player of the Year award. Rapinoe helped the U.S. hoist their fourth FIFA World Cup trophy this summer in France. She took home the Golden Ball and Golden Boot awards, as she scored six goals and recorded three assists.

Rapinoe won the award in her first-ever nomination. Also nominated was her fellow U.S. striker Alex Morgan, who also scored six goals at the World Cup. Morgan’s nomination was her second, as she also received a nomination in 2012.

Meanwhile, Ellis was part of that World Cup win, along with the 2015 win. Ellis made paid off and the U.S. won another title, leading other nations and becoming only the second-ever to win back-to-back World Cup titles.

This was Ellis’ first time winning the award in this rendition of it. She was named FIFA Women’s World Coach of the Year in 2015, the first time she led the U.S. to the World Cup.

Sari van Veenendaal wins Goalkeeper of the Year

Dutch goalkeeper Sari van Veendendaal played a major role in helping the Netherlands reach the World Cup final in only their second-ever World Cup appearance. Van Veenendaal picked up the Golden Glove at the World Cup for recording two clean sheets. The Dutch goalkeeper beat out Hedvig Lindahl of Sweden and Christiane Endler of Chile for the award.

FIFA FIFPro World XI Named

The award ceremony also included the first women’s FIFA FIFPro World XI, voted on by the players.

Five U.S. players were named to the list, including Morgan, Rapinoe, Rose Lavelle, Julie Ertz and Kelley O’Hara. The full list is below.

  • Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendal (NED)
  • Defenders: Lucy Bronze (ENG), Wendie Renard (FRA), Nilla Fischer (SWE), Kelley O’Hara (USA)
  • Midfielders: Amandine Henry (FRA), Julie Ertz (USA)
  • Attackers: Marta (BRA), Rose Lavelle (USA), Alex Morgan (USA), Megan Rapinoe (USA)


Your account


More in International