Connect with us

2019 Women's World Cup

USWNT draws Thailand, Chile, Sweden in Group F of 2019 Women’s World Cup

The United States women’s national team will play Thailand, Chile and Sweden in Group F at the 2019 Women’s World Cup. The six groups were determined on Saturday at the World Cup Draw in Paris.

Host France will open the tournament on June 7 against South Korea. They are joined in Group A by Norway and Nigeria. Canada headlines what looks to be a wide-open Group E with Cameroon, New Zealand and the Netherlands.

The groups are as follows:

Group A: France, South Korea, Norway, Nigeria

Group B: Germany, China, Spain, South Africa

Group C: Australia, Italy, Brazil, Jamaica

Group D: England, Scotland, Argentina, Japan

Group E: Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group F: USA, Thailand, Chile, Sweden

This is the fifth straight Women’s World Cup in which the U.S. and Sweden will meet in the group stage.

Despite what looks like an easy group draw for the U.S., the knockout stage will be difficult if groups play out as expected. The winner of Group F will play the second-place finisher from Group B in Reims in the Round of 16. The winner of that game would in the quarterfinals get the winner of 1A vs. 3CDE … which has a strong possibility of being hosts France.


Your account


More in 2019 Women's World Cup