Connect with us


Florida State wins second NCAA women’s soccer title

Photo: Florida State Athletics

Florida State won the NCAA women’s soccer championship for the second time in school history on Sunday, defeating North Carolina, 1-0, in the College Cup final in Cary, North Carolina.

Dallas Dorosy scored the game’s only goal, on a pass from Deyna Castellanos, in the 60th minute.

The title is the Seminoles’ second ever, having also won it all in 2014. Florida State joins UNC (21), Notre Dame (3), Portland (2), UNC (2) and Stanford (2) as the only programs in NCAA women’s soccer history to win multiple national titles.

Florida State’s impressive run this tournament included victories over the past three national champions: USC, Penn State and Stanford. The Seminoles’ semifinal victory over Stanford ended the defending-champion Cardinals’ 45-match unbeaten streak.

Three of Dorosy’s seven goals this season came against North Carolina. Florida State also defeated the Tar Heels in Cary to win the ACC Championship.

A crowd of 12,512 — mostly North Carolina fans — turned out for the final. North Carolina has not won the national title since 2012, the program’s longest drought in history.


Your account


More in NCAA