Connect with us


Spain wins U-17 World Cup; Canada fourth

Spain defeated Mexico 2-1 on Saturday in Montevideo to win the U-17 World Cup. Claudia Pina was the start of the show again scoring both goals for Spain and finishing the tournament on seven goals. No other player connected for more than three. Pina’s goals in the 16th and 26th minutes sent Spain off to a 2-0 lead. Denise Castro cut the lead to 2-1 in the 29th minute but there was no more scoring to be found.

The triumph was the first for the Spanish women at any level. Their U-20 side lost the final to Japan earlier this year and the 17s lost to Japan in their previous trip to the final four years ago. This was the first final at any level for the Mexican women.

Earlier in the day, New Zealand edged Canada 2-1. Grace Wisnewski scored the opener before a minute was up and added another on 13 minutes to finish as one of four players with three goals. Lara Kazandjian put Canada on the board in the 64th minute.

U-17 World Cup Champions
2008: North Korea
2010: South Korea
2012: France
2014: Japan
2016: North Korea
2018: Spain


Your account


More in International