Connect with us

2019 Women's World Cup

New Zealand completes field for 2019 Women’s World Cup

New Zealand completed their domination of the OFC Women’s Nations Cup with an 8-0 pounding of Fiji on Saturday. The win gave New Zealand the 24th and final spot in next summer’s World Cup. The win gave New Zealand a fourth consecutive berth in the Women’s World Cup since Australia left Oceania to join the Asian Football Confederation ahead of the 2007 tournament.

Sarah Gregorius scored twice to finish tied for the Golden Boot winning eight goals. Rosie White of the Chicago Red Stars scored the opener in the 2nd minute and added the finale in stoppage time. Earlier on Saturday, Papua New Guinea took third place by downing New Caledonia, 7-1. Meagen Gunemba scored four times to finish tied with Gregorius on eight total goals.

New Zealand also qualified for the 2020 Olympic Games.

The draw for the Women’s World Cup is Saturday, December 8 in France. The following 24 teams have qualified.

Hosts: France (UEFA)
Concacaf (3): Canada, Jamaica, United States
UEFA (8): England, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden
AFC (5): Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, Thailand
CONMEBOL (3): Argentina, Brazil, Chile
CAF (3): Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa
OFC (1): New Zealand


Your account


More in 2019 Women's World Cup