Connect with us

2019 Women's World Cup

USWNT clinches 2019 World Cup berth with dominant win over Jamaica

Photo Copyright Daniela Porcelli | Joerdeli Photography

The United States women are headed to the 2019 Women’s World Cup, booking their tickets on Sunday with a 6-0 victory over Jamaica in the semifinals of Concacaf qualifying in Frisco, Texas.

Tobin Heath scored twice in the first half, and Alex Morgan added a goal on each side of halftime to pace the United States. Julie Ertz and Megan Rapinoe also scored. Heath opened the scoring less than two minutes into the match, and Rapinoe and Ertz scored back-to-back some 15 minutes later to put the match out of reach early. Heath’s second goal, in the 29th minute, was a highlight-reel, one-touch finish.

The U.S. will play Canada on Wednesday in Frisco in the tournament final. Both regional powers have already qualified for the 2019 World Cup. Jamaica and Panama will play prior on Wednesday in the third-place match, where one of those teams will qualify for the Women’s World Cup for the first time. The loser of that match will get a third and final chance to qualify in a two-leg playoff with Argentina, who finished third in CONMEBOL.

Ranked No. 1 in the world, the Americans have emerged as a clear favorite heading into the 2019 World Cup after winning both the SheBelieves Cup and the Tournament of Nations earlier this year, securing four victories and two draws in six matches against some of the world’s best teams. The Americans enter next year as the defending World Cup champions.

Last time out in a major tournament, however, was a disaster for the Americans. The U.S. exited the 2016 Rio Olympics in the quarterfinals, falling to Sweden in penalty kicks. That is not lost on the Americans — specifically head coach Jill Ellis, who has spent two years testing out players and new formations to prevent such failure in the future.

Canada and the United States are the 16th and 17th teams to qualify for the 2019 World Cup, joining Australia, Brazil, Chile, China, England, France (host), Germany, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden and Thailand.

After either Panama or Jamaica qualify on Wednesday, the final six spots in the tournament will go to: Africa (three), Europe (one), Oceania (one) and either North or South America (Argentina or Jamaica/Panama).

United States in the World Cup

1991: World Cup champions
1995: Third Place (loss, semifinal to Norway)
1999: World Cup champions
2003: Third Place (loss semifinal to Germany)
2007: Third Place (loss, semifinal to Brazil)
2011: Runner-Up (loss to Japan)
2015: World Cup champions


Your account


More in 2019 Women's World Cup