Connect with us


Adrianna Franch repeats as NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year

(Photo Copyright Patricia Giobetti for The Equalizer)

Adrianna Franch has repeated as NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year. The Portland Thorns FC keeper appeared in 16 regular season matches for the Thorns and played to a 1.13 goals against average while recording three clean sheets. Franch later played a sterling semifinal against Seattle Reign FC to help the Thorns into the NWSL Championship for the second straight year.

RELATED: Dorsey, Riley win awards | The Lowdown

Franch edged out Lydia Williams of the Reign for the honor while Aubrey Bledsoe of the Washington Spirit finished third. She is the first keeper to win the Goalkeeper of the Year award two times. Last week Franch was named the keeper on the league’s Best XI, also for the second time.

NWSL Goalkeepers of the Year
2013: Nicole Barnhart, FC Kansas City
2014: Alyssa Naeher, Boston Breakers
2015: Michelle Betos, Portland Thorns FC
2016: Ashlyn Harris, Orlando Pride
2017: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC
2018: Adrianna Franch, Portland Thorns FC


Your account


More in News