Connect with us


FIFA announces coach, player shortlists for The Best 2018 awards

(Photo Copyright Hannah di Lorenzo for The Equalizer)

United States national team winger Megan Rapinoe is among the 10 players on FIFA’s shortlist for its 2018 best player award. Dutch playmaker Lieke Martens, who won the award in 2017 on the heels of an incredible European Championship title on home soil, did not make this year’s shortlist.

Portland Thorns FC coach Mark Parsons made the shortlist for top coach after guiding his team to the 2017 NWSL crown. Chelsea’s Emma Hayes and VfL Wolfsburg’s Stephan Lerch also make the shortlist following domestic titles, and Olympique Lyonnais’ Reynald Pedros adds a UEFA Champions League title to the mix. Dutch national team coach Sarina Wiegman, who won the 2017 award, is again on the shortlist.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Lucy Bronze (England/Olympique Lyonnais); Pernille Harder (Denmark/VfL Wolfsburg); Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais); Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Samantha Kerr (Australia/Sky Blue FC/Perth Glory FC/Chicago Red Stars); Saki Kumagai (Japan/Olympique Lyonnais); Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/ Olympique Lyonnais); Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride); Megan Rapinoe (USA/Seattle Reign FC); Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais).

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea Ladies FC); Stephan Lerch (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg); Mark Parsons (England/Portland Thorns FC); Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Alen Stajcic (Australia/Australian national team); Asako Takakura (Japan/Japanese national team); Vadão (Brazil/Brazilian national team); Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spanish national team); Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Swiss national team); Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Dutch national team).

Awards will be handed out at a Sept. 24 gala in London. Prior to that, three finalists will be announced in each category. The men’s player and coach shortlists can also be found here.

Voting is split between players, coaches, fans and media worldwide:

  • The captains of all national teams decide on 25% of the results ​
  • The head coaches of all national teams decide on 25% of the results
  • A public fan ballot on decides on 25% of the results
  • A group of around 200 members of the international media decides on 25% of the results

Click here to vote for players and here to vote for coaches.

FIFA states that voting should be based on accomplishments between August 7, 2017, and May 24, 2018 — essentially, the European season. If that consideration is followed, it could negatively impact NWSL players Rapinoe, Marta and Kerr, who are currently in the middle of those seasons.

The shortlists are compiled by separate men’s and women’s judging panels. The women’s panel is as follows:

Belinda Wilson (AUS)
Sun Wen (CHN)
Jacky Shipanga (NAM)
Clementine Toure (CIV)
Mia Hamm (USA)
Andrea Rodebaugh (MEX)
Sissi (BRA)
Diego Guacci (CHL)
Patrick Jacquemet (FRA)
Maia Jackman (NZL)
Anna Signeul (SWE)
Nadine Kessler (GER)


Your account


More in International