Connect with us


NWSL announces 34 federation players for 2018 season

Taylor Smith, left and Casey Short are among 34 allocated players as announced by NWSL on Thursday. )Photo copyright Lewis Gettier)

NWSL announced a list of 34 federation players on Thursday, 23 from U.S. Soccer and 11 from the Canadian Soccer Association. There are six newly allocated players on the list. Jane Campbell, Abby Dahlkemper, Crystal Dunn, and Taylor Smith from the U.S. and Canada’s Adriana Leon and Rebecca Quinn.  Leon was an original allocation in 2013 until the Flash sold her to Europe in 2016. She returned on a standard contract in 2017.

U.S. Players dropping off the allocation list are Sydney Leroux, Ali Krieger, and Meghan Klingenberg. Morgan Brian, who signed with Lyon, will not be allocated either similar to Crystal Dunn last season. All four players had their rights picked up by their current NWSL clubs. Canada dropped Steph Labbe and the Spirit have renounced her rights. She is eligible to be claimed via the Distribution Ranking Order by 5 p.m. EST on Thursday.

Notably absent from the list is Andi Sulivan who is heading to camp for the SheBelieves Cup and was the No. 1 overall pick in last month’s draft.

The full list of Federation Players by team is:

Chicago Red Stars
Julie Ertz (USA)
Alyssa Naeher (USA)
Casey Short (USA)

Houston Dash
Jane Campbell (USA)*
Christen Press (USA)
Nichelle Prince (CAN)

North Carolina Courage
Allysha Chapman (CAN)
Sabrina D’Angelo (CAN)
Abby Dahlkemper (USA)*
Crystal Dunn (USA)*
Samantha Mewis (USA)
Lynn Williams (USA)

Orlando Pride
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Shelina Zadorksy (CAN)

Portland Thorns FC
Tobin Heath (USA)
Lindsey Horan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Emily Sonnett (USA)

Seattle Reign FC
Allie Long (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Sky Blue FC
Janine Beckie (CAN)
Adriana Leon (CAN)*
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Kailen Sheridan (CAN)

Utah Royals FC
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)

Washington Spirit
Rose Lavelle (USA)
Mallory Pugh (USA)
Rebecca Quinn (CAN)*
Taylor Smith (USA)*

* = New Federation Player in 2018


Your account


More in Canada