Connect with us

Euro 2017

Monday Roundup: Scottish FA, players reach agreement to play Euros, WWC qualifying

Also in today’s Roundup, the USWNT U-20s hit the road for England and Germany, and Belgium name Euro roster

Scottish FA

The Scottish FA has announced an agreement with its women’s national team that will see the team play without interruption through the qualifying campaign for the 2019 World Cup. The agreement contains both operational and commercial elements. The statement did not specifically say it covered the 2019 should Scotland qualify, which would be a first.

“The Scottish FA is fully committed to the development of girls’ and women’s football in Scotland,” part of the statement read. “Over the past seven years we have doubled our investment into girls’ and women’s football, resulting in participation numbers across Scotland almost doubling within this period.”

Scotland have qualified for the European Championships for the first time and will open against England on July 19. Spain and Portugal are the other nations drawn into Group D. Scotland’s best player, 2014 NWSL MVP Kim Little, will miss the tournament as she recovers from a torn ACL.

The Scottish FA will announce its European Championship roster Tuesday live on YouTube.

US U-20s heading to England and Germany

The U.S. U-20 national team will leave for Europe on Friday and play two matches each during stops in England and Germany. Jitka Klimkova’s side will face England on July 5 and 7 and Germany on July 10 and 12.

Klimova has called in 24 players for the camp including 11 that played in either the U-17 or U-20 World Cups in 2016.

{NWSL NEWS: Kealia Ohai out for season with torn ACL}

“These are great opportunities for us to have more international games against strong opponents, which is exactly what we need to get better as a team and individuals,” said Klimkova. “We’re still in the beginning of the cycle so every experience we get to really test ourselves overseas is going to help the growth of the team.”

The full, 24-woman roster for the four-match trip to Europe is:

Goalkeepers (3): Brooke Heinsohn (Duke; Norfolk, Mass.), Laurel Ivory (West Florida Flames; Surfside, Fla.), Mandy McGlynn (Virginia Tech; Jacksonville, Fla.)
Defenders (8): Emily Fox (UNC; Chapel Hill, N.C), Naomi Girma (Central Valley Crossfire; San Jose, Calif.), Samantha Hiatt (Crossfire SC; Newcastle, Wash.), Tara McKeown (San Diego Surf; Newbury Park, Calif.), Zoe Morse (Virginia; East Lansing, Mich), Karlie Paschall (Tenessee SC; Brentwood, Tenn.), Isabel Rodriguez (Michigan Hawks; Canton, Mich.), Sophia Serafin (West Coast FC; Glendora, Calif.)
Midfielders (7): Tierna Davidson (Stanford; Menlo Park, Calif.), Savannah DeMelo (USC; Bellflower, Calif.), Jaelin Howell (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Arlie Jones (San Diego Surf; Las Vegas, Nev.), Taylor Kornieck (San Diego Surf; Henderson, Nev.), Brianna Pinto (CASL; Durham, N.C.), Viviana Villacorta (Beach FC; Lawndale, Calif.)
Forwards (6): Parker Goins (TSC Hurricane: Broken Arrow, Okla.), Abigail Kim (Pacific NW SC; Vashon, Wash.), Civiana Kuhlmann (Colorado Rush; Littleton, Colo.), Ashley Sanchez (So Cal Blues; Monrovia, Calif), Sophia Smith (Real Colorado; Windsor, Colo.), Kelsey Turnbow (SC Del Sol; Scottsdale; Ariz.)

Belgium name Euro roster

Belgium Euro roster

Belgium has named the squad that will represent the Red Flames in their maiden run at the European Championships. Among the 23 women named to the squad are all-time leading scorer Tessa Wullaert and former Western New York Flash player Janice Cayman.

These are good times for the Belgian women who are grouped with Denmark, Netherlands, and Norway in the Euros. In September they will begin trying to qualify for the World Cup for a first time and will be among the favorites in Group 6 that also includes Italy, Romania, Portugal, and Moldova.

The full Belgium roster is:

Goalkeepers (3): Nicky Evrard, Diede Lemey, Justien Odeurs
Defenders (8): Imke Courtois, Maud Coutereels, Laura Deloose, Laura De Neve, Heleen Jacques, Nicky Van Den Abbeele, Lorca Vandeputte, Aline Zeler
Midfielders (4): Julie Biesmans, Kassandra Missipo, Lenie Onzia, Elien Van Wynendaele
Forwards (8): Janice Cayman, Jana Coryn, Yana Daniels, Tine De Caigney, Davina Philtjens, Elke Van Gorp, Davinia Vanmechelen, Tessa Wullaert


Your account


More in Euro 2017