Connect with us

Euro 2017

Rivals drawn into same groups for Euro 2017


The 2017 UEFA European Championship draw took place today in Rotterdam, Netherlands, on Tuesday with exactly 250 days until the tournament kicks off. Sixteen teams were drawn into four groups of four with the hosts being slotted in Group A. The draw was filled with several surprises and plenty of group-stage rivalry matches. All the action gets underway in Utrecht on July 16 with the Netherlands taking on Norway.

Germany, winners of the 2016 Olympic gold medal, and Sweden is likely to be the most anticipated match of the group stage,  but England-Scotland and Norway-Denmark will also add geographical intrigue.

The top two teams from each group advance.

Group A

Netherlands (FIFA ranking: 12)
Norway (11)
Denmark (20)
Belgium (26)

Group B

Germany (2)
Sweden (6)
Italy (17)
Russia (22)

Group C

France (3)
Iceland (16)
Austria (25)
Switzerland (15)

Group D

England (5)
Scotland (21)
Spain (14)
Portugal (40)

Austria, Belgium, Scotland, Switzerland and Portugal will be making their European Championship debuts. Portugal was the final team to qualify for Euro 2017 after an exciting playoff win over Romania last month.

Germany has won six consecutive European Championships and eight overall. After winning 2016 Rio Olympic gold, it will be tough for opposition teams to topple the mighty Germans. New coach Steffi Jones has taken over from Silvia Neid

England is a team on the rise and missed out on the Rio Olympics due to politics back home. After Mark Sampson’s squad won bronze at the 2015 World Cup, the Lionesses are a team to beat. Rio silver medalist Sweden will be led by veteran coach Pia Sundhage. France has a lot of question marks, including new coach Olivier Echouafni, who has very little experience in women’s soccer. Could this be the tournament where the Netherlands, Denmark, Norway or Spain break through and make a run? 

Euro 2017 will stretch from July 16 to August 6. The semifinals will take place on August 3 in Breda and Enschede. The Euro 2017 Final will be contested in Enschede at 30,000 capacity FC Twente Stadion.

Euro 2017 host cities and stadiums

Utrecht – Stadion Galgenwaard

Doetinchem – Stadion De Vijverberg

Rotterdam – Sparta Stadion

Breda – Rat Verlegh Stadion

Tilburg – Willem II Stadion

Deventer – Stadion De Adelaarshorst

Enschede – FC Twente Stadion


Your account


More in Euro 2017