Connect with us


CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying rosters announced

Costa Rica captain Shirley Cruz looks to qualify Las Ticas for the Olympics for the first time ever. (Photo Copyright Erica McCaulley for The Equalizer)

Costa Rica captain Shirley Cruz looks to qualify Las Ticas for the Olympics for the first time ever. (Photo Copyright Erica McCaulley for The Equalizer)

The 20-player rosters have been announced for all eight teams in 2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying tournament.

It was already known that U.S. coach Jill Ellis made some tough decisions which include bringing some young players to the qualifying and leaving 228-capped veteran Heather O’Reilly off the roster.

[EXCLUSIVE: Ellis discusses roster cuts, pre-Olympic schedule]

Mexico left arguably its best rising player — Charyln Corral — off the roster for reasons which seem to be other than production on the field, and so the 24-year-old says she is retiring from international duty under the current regime.

Costa Rica returns its improving squad which made the World Cup for the first time in 2015, including veteran and captain Shirley Cruz and No. 2 overall NWSL draft pick (Sky Blue FC) Raquel Rodriguez.

Canada has gone with some young, unproven players in place of veterans such as Kaylyn Kyle and Emily Zurrer. And Puerto Rico boasts just one player born before 1990 and five players born in 1998 or later.

Team-by-team rosters

GK (3) –  Sabrina D’Angelo (Western New York Flash /USA); Stephanie Labbe (Washington Spirit /USA); Erin McLeod (Unattached);

DF (5) – Josée Belanger (Orlando Pride /USA); Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia University/USA); Allysha Chapman (Houston Dash /USA); Rhian Wilkinson (Unattached); Shelina Zadorsky (Washington Spirit/USA);

MF (6) – Jessie Fleming (London Nor’West SC/CAN); Ashley Lawrence (West Virginia University/USA); Diana Matheson (Washington Spirit /USA); Rebecca Quinn (Duke University/USA); Sophie Schmidt (FFC Frankfurt/GER); Desiree Scott (Unattached);

FW (6) – Janine Beckie (Houston Dash /USA); Gabrielle Carle (Dynamo de Québec/CAN); Nichelle Prince (Ohio State University/USA); Deanne Rose (Scarborough GS United/CAN); Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns FC /USA); Melissa Tancredi (Unattached);

GK (3) – Dinnia Díaz (Moravia/CRC); Yuliana Salas (Moravia/CRC); Yalitza Sánchez (UCEM/CRC)

DF (7) – Mariana Benavides (Moravia/CRC); Daniela Cruz (Estrella Roja /SRB); Gaby Guillén (Saprissa FF/CRC); Lixy Rodríguez (Santa Teresa CD/ESP); Diana Sáenz (University of South Florida/USA); Carol Sánchez (Moravia/CRC); Fabiola Sánchez (Martin Methodist College/USA);

MF (5) – Wendy Acosta (UD Granadilla/ESP); Katherine Alvarado (Saprissa FF/CRC); Shirley Cruz (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA); Cristin Granados (Moravia/CRC); Gloriana Villalobos (Saprissa FF/CRC);

FW (5) – María Fernanda Barrantes (Moravia/CRC); Melissa Herrera (Moravia/CRC); Raquel Rodríguez (Sky Blue FC/USA); Carolina Venegas (Madrid FF/ESP); Karla Villalobos (Moravia/CRC);

GK (3) – Yoselin Franco (UNIFUT/GUA); Alicia Navas (Jutiapanecas/GUA); Natalie Schaps (Pares/GUA);

DF (6) – Gloria Aguilar (UNIFUT/GUA); Londy Barrios (Xelaju/GUA); Didra Martinez (Xelaju/GUA); Kellin Mayen (UNIFUT/GUA); Coralia Monterroso (University of New Brunswick/CAN); Christian Recinos (Grand Canyon University/USA);

MF (5) – Daniela Andrade (Unattached); Alida Argueta (Xelaju/GUA); Fabiola Gonzalez (Xelaju/GUA); Andrea Rabanales (UNIFUT/GUA); Marilyn Rivera (UNIFUT/GUA);

FW (6) – Diana Barrera (ACF Torino USA/USA); Celeste Gatica (UNIFUT/GUA); Vivian Herrera (UNIFUT/GUA); Waleska Ixcuna (Quiche/GUA); Ana Lucia Martinez  Martinez (Rayo Vallecano Femenino/ESP); Jennifer Muñoz (Martin Methodist College/USA);

GK (3) – Derienne Busby (University of Evansville/USA); Ruth George (Lil Diva’s FC/GUY); Chante Sandiford (UMF Selfoss/ISL);

DF (8) – Briana DeSouza (Durham United FC/CAN); Kayla DeSouza (Durham United FC/CAN); Julia Gonsalves (University of Toronto/CAN); Kailey Leila (Unattached); Kelly Pelz-Butler (Unattached); Leah-Marie Ramalho (Toronto Rangers SC/CAN); Justine Rodrigues (Unattached); Bria Williams (Vaughan SC/CAN);

MF (7) – Dana Marie Bally (York University /CAN); Mariam El-Masri (GS United/CAN); Olivia Gonsalves (University of Toronto/CAN); Alison Heydorn (Ann Arbor United SC/USA); Brittany Persaud (Unattached); Ashley Rodrigues (Tampa Bay Hellenic/USA); Ashlee Savona (Unattached);

FW (2) – Otesha Charles (Unattached); Calaigh Copland (Woodbridge Strikers SC/CAN);

GK (3) – Esthefanny Barreras (Eastern Florida State College/USA); Bianca Henninger (Houston Dash/USA); Cecilia Santiago (Apollon Limassol/CYP);

DF (7) – Greta Espinoza (Oregon State University/USA); Janelly Farias (Unattached); Monica Flores (University of Notre Dame/USA); Alina Garciamendez (Unattached); Annia Mejia (University of California/USA); Valeria Miranda (UNAM/MEX); Arianna Romero (Washington Spirit/USA);

MF (5) – Karla Nieto (Leonas Morelos/MEX); Teresa Noyola (Tottenham Hotspur East Bay/USA); Monica Ocampo (Unattached); Veronica Perez (Canberra United/AUS); Nayeli Rangel (Unattached);

FW (5) – Maribel Dominguez (Unattached); Katlyn Johnson (University of Southern California/USA); Desiree Monsivais (BIIK Kazygurt/KAZ); Tanya Samarzich (University of KentuckyUSA); Paloma Zermeño (City College of San Francisco/USA);

GK (3) – Maria Guerrero (High Performance/PUR); Karly Gustafson (Winthrop University/USA); Sandra Rolon (Romano FC/PUR);

DF (5) – Adriana Font (Challenegers FC/PUR); Kelley Johnson (Unattached); Ashley Rivera (Romano FC/PUR); Delyaliz Rosario (Romano FC/PUR); Mirianee Zaragoza (Aguilas de Añasco/PUR);

MF (9) – Victoria Barris (Quickstrike FC/USA); Alejandra Carrion (Gurabo FC/PUR); Stephanie Colon (Unattached); Viviana Fiol (Unattached); Annie Lee Mendez (Bayamon FC/PUR); Selimar Pagan (Bayamon FC/PUR); Noelia Reyes (Bayamon FC/PUR); Nicole Rodriguez (Durham/ENG); Laura Suarez (Romano FC/PUR);

FW (3) – Angela Diaz (Caribbean Stars/PUR); Ashley Johnson (Unattached); Karina Socarras (Bayamon FC/PUR);

GK (3) – Shalette Alexander (Wiley College/USA); Saundra Baron (Unattached); Kimika Forbes (Unattached);

DF (5) – Danielle Blair (GS United/CAN); Jenelle Cunningham (Real Dimension/TRI); Liana Hinds (University of Connecticut/USA); Arin King (GS United/CAN); Anastasia Prescott (Unattached);

MF (10) – Maylee Attin-Johnson (Central FC/TRI); Kennya Cordner (Unattached); Khadidra Debesette (West Texas A&M University/USA); Karyn Forbes (West Texas A&M University/USA); Janine Francois (Real Dimension/TRI); Naomi Guerra (St Augustine Secondary/TRI); Ahkeela Mollon (La brea Amgels/TRI); Tasha St Louis (St Ann’s FC/TRI); Victoria Swift (Navarro College/USA); Kayla Taylor (Wiley College/USA);

FW (2) – Jo Marie Lewis (St Ann’s FC/TRI); Mariah Shade (US Rouvroy/FRA);

GK (3) – Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride/USA); Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars/USA); Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC/USA);

DF (7) – Jaelene Hinkle (Western New York Flash/USA); Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars/USA); Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC/USA); Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit/USA); Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC/USA); Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City/USA); Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC/USA);

MF (5) – Morgan Brian (Houston Dash/USA); Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC/USA); Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC/USA); Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash/USA); Samantha Mewis (Western New York Flash/USA);

FW (5) – Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit/USA); Stephanie McCaffrey (Boston Breakers/USA); Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride/USA); Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars/USA); Mallory Pugh (Real Colorado/USA);


Your account


More in Canada