Connect with us


US wins fourth straight CONCACAF U-20 crown

The United States U-20 women are champions of CONCACAF for the fourth straight time after defeating Canada, 1-0 on Sunday in the World Cup qualifying championship in San Pedro Sula, Honduras. Ashley Sanchez scored the game’s only goal in the 72nd minute.

Canada had not given up a goal in the tournament until Sanchez’s strike, which came from a misplayed ball by Canada goalkeeper Lysianne Proulx:

Canada and the U.S. had already both qualified for the 2016 U-20 Women’s World Cup next year in Papa New Guinea. Mexico defeated Honduras earlier on Sunday in CONCACAF’s third-place match to complete the 16-team field for the World Cup.

[MORE: Senior USWNT defeats China on goals from Press, Dunn]

The CONCACAF triumph is the United States’ fifth overall at the U-20 level. Mallory Pugh took home the Golden Boot and the Golden Ball.

The U.S. and Canadian women are not only frequent opponents at the senior level, but at the youth level as well:

The 16 teams participating in the 2016 U-20 Women’s World Cup are: Ghana, Nigeria, Brazil, Venezuela, France, Germany, Sweden, Spain, Korea Republic, Japan, Korea DPR, USA, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and hosts Papua New Guinea


Your account


More in Uncategorized