Connect with us


CONCACAF Under-20 Championship groups set

(Photo via CONCACAF)

The 2015 CONCACAF U-20 Women’s Championship groups are set. (Photo: CONCACAF)

The draw for the 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship was held today in Honduras and the groups are set.

The tournament, which will take place from December 3-13 in San Pedro Sula, Honduras, will serve as qualification for the 2016 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in Papua New Guinea. Dates for the World Cup are still to be determined.

The groups are as follows:

Group A
Trinidad & Tobago

Group B
United States

The winner and runner up from each group will advance to the semi-finals. The two semi-final winners will qualify for next year’s U-20 World Cup, and the losing semifinalists will play in the third place match to claim the the final World Cup berth.

Japan, Korea DPR, Korea Republic, New Zealand, France, Germany, Spain, Sweden and Papua New Guinea (hosts) have already qualified for next year’s 16-nation World Cup.

The United States won the 2014 CONCACAF U-20 Championship with a 4-0 win over Mexico, and Costa Rica placed third. Canada qualified for the 2014 U-20 World Cup automatically as hosts. At the U-20 World Cup, both Canada and the United States were defeated in the quarterfinals.



Your account


More in International