Connect with us


FSU, UCLA, Stanford, Texas A&M earn No. 1 seeds

FSU earned a No. 1 seed after winning a second straight ACC title. (Photo Copyright Steve Bruno for The Equalizer)

FSU earned a No. 1 seed after winning a second straight ACC title. (Photo Copyright Steve Bruno for The Equalizer)

Florida State, Stanford, Texas A&M and defending champion UCLA earned No. 1 seeds in the 2014 NCAA Division I women’s soccer championship, the NCAA announced on Monday.

The national title game will be played on Dec. 7 at FAU Stadium in Boca Raton, Fla.

Last year the UCLA Bruins beat Florida State in extra time to win their first NCAA title in head coach Amanda Cromwell’s first season in charge. The two teams are on opposite sides of the bracket and could meet again in the final. UCLA and Texas A&M are on the same side of the bracket, while Stanford is in the bottom half of FSU’s side of the bracket.

[MORE: Conference crowns clinched  |  Canada star Fleming commits to UCLA]

FSU just won its second straight ACC tournament on Sunday, beating Virginia, 1-0. UCLA beat USC to win a second straight Pac-12 title in front of a regular-season record crowd of 10,128 fans on Friday. Stanford finished second in the Pac-12, which does not have a tournament. Texas A&M won the SEC title on Sunday, beating Kentucky 1-0.

UCLA will open the tournament at home against San Diego State, while FSU hosts South Alabama, Texas A&M hosts Houston Baptist and Stanford hosts Cal St. Fullerton.

Penn State, Virginia, North Carolina and Florida earned No. 2 seeds.

Buffalo, Houston Baptist, New Hampshire, Prairie View A&M, Rider and SIU-Edwardsville are making their first-ever tournament appearances.

Here’s the complete bracket (click to enlarge):

141110_NCAA 2014 field

• America East Conference — New Hampshire
• American Athletic Conference  — Connecticut
• Atlantic Coast Conference — Florida State
• Atlantic Sun Conference — Florida Gulf Coast
• Atlantic 10 Conference — Dayton
• Big East Conference — DePaul
• Big Sky Conference — Northern Arizona
• Big South Conference — High Point
• Big Ten Conference — Wisconsin
• Big 12 Conference — West Virginia
• Big West Conference — Cal State Fullerton
• Colonial Athletic Association — Northeastern
• Conference USA — Rice
• Horizon League — Valparaiso
• Ivy League — Harvard
• Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference — Rider
• Mid-American Conference — Buffalo
• Missouri Valley Conference — Illinois State
• Mountain West Conference — San Diego State
• Northeast Conference — Central Connecticut State
• Ohio Valley Conference — SIUE
• Pac-12 Conference — UCLA
• Patriot League — Boston U.
• Southeastern Conference — Texas A&M
• Southland Conference — Houston Baptist
• Southern Conference — Mercer
• Southwestern Athletic Conference — Prairie View A&M
• Summit League — South Dakota State
• Sun Belt Conference — South Alabama
• West Coast Conference — Brigham Young
• Western Athletic Conference — Seattle


Your account


More in NCAA