Connect with us


Ellis names 28-player roster for Mexico friendlies

Jill Ellis has named her roster for next month's matches vs. Mexico. (AP Photo/Lenny Ignelzi)

Jill Ellis has named her roster for next month’s matches vs. Mexico. (AP Photo/Lenny Ignelzi)

Jill Ellis has named her 28-player roster for the United States women’s national team’s two September matches vs. Mexico. The roster includes most of the usual faces, but also marks another return for midfielders Shannon Boxx and Kristie Mewis.

Mexico and the U.S. will play on Sept. 13 in Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah — home of Real Salt Lake — and again on Sept. 18 at Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y.

Boston Breakers goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher is also in camp after winning the NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year Award for the 2014 season. Naeher joined the team last week for a match vs. Switzerland after Ashlyn Harris was ruled out, but Naeher did not play in the match.

Morgan Brian is the only college player on the roster.

The U.S. is 27-1-1 all-time against Mexico, with the one loss coming in a critical 2011 World Cup qualifying semifinal that forced the U.S. into a world playoff vs. Italy at the end of 2010 in order to qualify for the tournament.

Full roster:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Nicole Barnhart (FC Kansas City), Alyssa Naeher (Boston Breakers), Ashlyn Harris (Washington Spirit), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS (10): Stephanie Cox (Seattle Reign FC), Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Whitney Engen (Houston Dash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Houston Dash), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Rachel Van Hollebeke (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Shannon Boxx (Chicago Red Stars), Morgan Brian (Virginia), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lauren Holiday (FC Kansas City), Carli Lloyd (WNY Flash), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Kristie Mewis (Boston Breakers), Heather O’Reilly (Boston Breakers), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)

FORWARDS (5): Sydney Leroux (Seattle Reign FC), Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (WNY Flash)


Your account


More in News