Connect with us


Harvey named NWSL Coach of the Year

Laura Harvey, Seattle Reign FC
Laura Harvey, Seattle Reign FC

Laura Harvey has been named NWSL Coach of the Year. (Photo copyright Patricia Giobetti |

Laura Harvey’s massive makeover of Seattle Reign FC has her team in Sunday’s National Women’s Soccer League final, and it’s also earned her the NWSL Coach of the Year award.

Harvey guided Seattle to a a 16-2-6 record, setting NWSL single-season marks for points (54), wins (16), goal difference (plus-30), goals scored (50) and goals against average (0.83). Seattle won the NWSL Shield as regular-season champions.

Seattle’s turnaround has been remarkable. The Reign finished seventh last season, winning just five of 22 points and securing 18 points.

This season, Seattle went unbeaten in the first 16 matches of the year before losing, 1-0 to the Chicago Red Stars on July 12.

Washington Spirit coach Mark Parsons finished second in the voting and FC Kansas City coach Vlatko Andonvski finished third. Harvey’s Reign beat Parsons’ Spirit in the NWSL semifinals last Sunday, and she will face Andonovski — the 2013 Coach of the Year — in this Sunday’s final.


Your account


More in News