Connect with us


W-League, WPSL trophies heading to California

On Sunday the two Californian teams were crowned champions of the W-League and WPSL respectively. Katie Stengel recorded a brace to lift the LA Blues over the Washington Spirit Reserves for the W-League crown while Beach Futbol Club’s Kristina Larsen scored in her club’s 1-0 WPSL victory over the Houston Aces.
The LA Blues dominated the Washington Spirit Reserves 6-1, in a matchup of two of the league’s powerhouse teams.  Stengel, who will now join Bayern Munich, scored the game winner in the 16th minute. Washington had a chance to clear the ball out of the area but didn’t and Stengel took advantage. Stengel scored another goal in the 53rd minute carrying the ball all the way from midfield and she put it into the corner beyond the reach of Washington’s keeper Adelaide Gay.  Sarah Killion was named the game’s MVP with a goal and two assists. Joining Stengel and Killion on the scoresheet for  the LA Blues were Mele French (45′), Caprice Dydasco (78′), and Paige Neilson (84′). 
Katie Yensen scored Washington’s only goal in the 74th minute.  Emily Bruder sent ball across the middle to Yensen. Yensen struck the ball into the corner of the net. Unfortunately for the Spirit Reserves, the goal came too late to mount a comeback.
Given the pedigree of both these teams, it might not be too long to before they face off again in another W-League Championship game.
Former Seattle Reign forward Kristina Larsen scored the only goal of the contest to lead Beach Futbol Club to a WPSL Championship in their first year in the league. It took Beach Futbol club until extra time to find the back of the next in their semifinal against the Chicago Red Stars Reserves. They found a goal early on in this contest. In the 17th minute, Nadia Link play a ball a ball forward to Larsen who then chipped Aces Keeper Che Brown for the score. Beach Futbol Club, who finished the season unbeaten and untied, controlled much of the game but were unable to extend their lead.
The Houston Aces, who fell in the final for the second year in a row, fought hard to find an equalizer. They had two goals disallowed due to offsides, once in each half. Four members of the Aces, Natalia Gaitan, Orianica Velasquez, Tatiana and Natalia Ariza will now represent Colombia in the La Copa America  World Cup Qualifiers.

Your account


More in News