Connect with us

2015 Women's World Cup

China, South Korea book first tickets to World Cup

China and South Korea have qualified for the 2015 Women’s World Cup after victories on Friday at the Asian Cup in Vietnam.

China defeated Myanmar 3-0 on Saturday and South Korea topped Thailand 4-0. Both teams improved to 2-0-0 in group play and booked tickets in the semifinals of the Asian Cup with the wins. The top five teams from the eight-team Asian tournament advance to next year’s World Cup.

Star Ji So-yun opened the scoring for South Korea on Saturday, but it was Park Eun-sun who netted a hat trick. South Korea opened the tournament on Thursday with a 12-0 thrashing of Myanmar.

China wasn’t as harsh on Myanmar on Saturday, winning behind goals from Ren Guixin, Yang Li and Ma Xiaoxu.

South Korea and China will meet on Monday, but the group’s other match between Myanmar and Thailand will determine which nation moves onto the fifth place playoff for a chance at World Cup glory.

South Korea and China join host Canada as teams officially qualified for the 2015 World Cup.



Your account


More in 2015 Women's World Cup