Connect with us

2015 Women's World Cup

CONCACAF WWC Qualifiers to be held in Mexico

Mark it in your calendars now: CONCACAF World Cup Qualifiers will take place October 16-26, 2014 in Mexico.  Two cities will split the hosting duties, with Cancún and Playa del Carmen tapped by FIFA.

No stadiums have been named at this time, though the Estadio Andrés Quintana Roo in Cancún has a capacity of 20,000 with a grass field.  Estadio Mario Villanueva could be a likely choice in Playa del Carmen.

As host nation, Canada is automatically qualified for the World Cup.

As detailed at the official FIFA site for the 2015 Women’s World Cup:

The CONCACAF Women’s Championship, which will take place in Cancún and Playa del Carmen, Mexico between 16 and 26 October 2014, will decide the region’s participants at Canada 2015.

A total of 31 teams are hoping to be involved, with the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and Union Centro Americano (UNCAF) staging pre-qualifiers to determine their entrants. The CFU tournament will take place between 21 May and 27 July 2014, with three places at the CONCACAF finals up for grabs, while two berths will be fought over at the UNCAF event between 19 and 25 May.

A final line-up of eight teams will then be left to compete at the CONCACAF Championship for three guaranteed slots at the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015. The two finalists and winner of the match for third place will advance automatically, while the side finishing fourth will go into a play-off against a team from CONMEBOL for the chance to join the top trio at Canada 2015.



Your account


More in 2015 Women's World Cup