Connect with us


Lilly, Markgraf, Scurry eligible for Hall of Fame

Kristine Lilly is now eligible for the National Soccer Hall of Fame. (Getty Images)

Kristine Lilly, Kate Sobrero Markgraf and Brianna Scurry are among 10 players eligible for the first time for the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Lilly is the all-time international caps leader with 352 appearances for the United States women from 1987-2010 and won two World Cups.

Markgraf and Scurry both won the 1999 World Cup. Markgraf appeared for the U.S. 201 times from 1998-2010, while Scurry appeared in net 173 times from 1994-2008.

The last time a woman was inducted to the National Soccer Hall of Fame was 2009, when Joy Fawcett was added.

In order to be eligible for election as a “player,” an individual must be retired for at least three years, but for no more than 10 years and have either payed in at least 20 international games for the U.S., or played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and named to a postseason All-League or All-Star team at least once.

Cindy Parlow Cone is in her final year of eligibility before shifting over to the veteran ballot, which comes after a player is retired longer than 10 years.

The voting pool includes the men’s and women’s national team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach in a first-division league, MLS and NWSL management representatives, MLS Commissioner Don Garber, NWSL Executive Director Cheryl Bailey, U.S. Soccer CEO/secretary general Dan Flynn, U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati, designated media members, and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can list up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the Veteran ballot.

2014 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot
Chris Armas
Raul Diaz Arce **
Marco Etcheverry **
Lorrie Fair
Robin Fraser
Chris Henderson
Zoran Karic **
Chris Klein *
Jason Kreis
Eddie Lewis *
Kristine Lilly *
Kristin Luckenbill *
Shannon MacMillan
Kate Sobrero Markgraf*
Clint Mathis*
Brian McBride*
Jaime Moreno*
Victor Nogueira **
John O’Brien
Ben Olsen
Cindy Parlow Cone **
Steve Ralston*
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts
Tony Sanneh
Briana Scurry *
Taylor Twellman

* First year of eligibility
** Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2015

2014 National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran Ballot
David Brcic
Mike Burns
Kevin Crow
John Doyle
Linda Hamilton
Mary Harvey
Dominic Kinnear
Frank Klopas
Bill McPherson
Shep Messing
Glenn Myernick
Mike Sorber
Tisha Venturini-Hoch
Steve Zungul

2014 National Soccer Hall of Fame Builder Ballot
Chuck Blazer
Gianfranco Borroni
Bob Bradley
Bob Contiguglia
Don Garber
Burton Haimes
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth
Sigi Schmid


Your account


More in News