Connect with us


Source: Press to Chicago as allocation takes shape

Christen Press has been allocated to the Chicago Red Stars, a source tells The Equalizer. (Copyright Patricia Giobetti |

Allocation of United States, Canadian and Mexican national team players to NWSL teams will be announced at 11 a.m. ET on Friday, and details are already becoming clear.

U.S. forward Christen Press has been allocated to the Chicago Red Stars, a source with knowledge tells The Equalizer.

Expansion team Houston Dash will be allocated only one U.S. player — Whitney Engen — and will acquire two other United States internationals via an expansion draft tentatively set for Friday, Jan. 10. It is unclear at this time how many U.S. players each team will be able to protect. Further details remain unclear, but it looks like the Western New York Flash will be exempt from losing a U.S. player since they remain with two — Carli Lloyd and Abby Wambach — instead of three.

Press is among four allocated U.S. players entering the NWSL from overseas, and sources confirm that Yael Averbuch is headed to the Washington Spirit and Meghan Klingenberg will return to the Boston Breakers, where she played half a season in 2011 after getting away from magicJack via trade.

Engen is the fourth player coming to the NWSL from Sweden. Press, Klingenberg and Engen will remain with Swedish club Tyresö until June at the latest. All three would likely return after Tyresö is knocked out of the UEFA Champions League (or wins it on May 22); Press said as much in her latest blog.

Some new players will be allocated for Canada and Mexico, including Canadian forward Melissa Tancredi, who has been allocated to Houston. Tancredi has been on a break from playing professionally to finish her chiropractic degree, but is expected to be available in June.

Of note is the allocation of U.S. defender Stephanie Cox, which gives Seattle four allocated players and could force her into the expansion draft. Seattle’s other U.S. players are Sydney Leroux, Megan Rapinoe and Hope Solo.

The most interesting Canadian move is giving Chicago defender Rachel Quon’s allocation status. Quon played for the U.S. as a youth player but switched over to Canada in June. She still hasn’t played for the Canadian senior team, but is now allocated for Chicago, giving them three Canadians.

Mexico has reduced its number of allocated players to eight, sources reveal.

Desiree Scott and Lauren Sesselmann are listed as allocated Canadians, but Notts County of England’s FAWSL on Thursday announced the signing of Scott. They are said to be under contract, but Scott’s agent, Chuck Vine, says that is not the case and Scott signed with Notts freely.

Here are the full allocations:

Boston Breakers
USA: Heather O’Reilly, Kristie Mewis, Meghan Klingenberg
Mexico: Dinora Garza
Canada: Chelsea Stewart, Kaylyn Kyle

Chicago Red Stars
USA: Shannon Boxx, Amy LePeilbet, Christen Press
Mexico: None
Canada: Rachel Quon, Adriana Leon, Erin McLeod

Houston Dash
USA: Whitney Engen
Mexico: Teresa Noyola
Canada: Melissa Tancredi

FC Kansas City
USA: Lauren Holiday, Becky Sauerbrunn, Nicole Barnhart, Amy Rodriguez
Mexico: Cecilia Santiago
Canada: Desiree Scott, Lauren Sesselmann

Portland Thorns FC
USA: Rachel Buehler, Alex Morgan, Tobin Heath
Mexico: Jackie Acevedo
Canada: Christine Sinclair, Karina LeBlanc

Seattle Reign FC
USA: Hope Solo, Megan Rapinoe, Sydney Leroux, Stephanie Cox
Mexico: Arianna Romero
Canada: Carmelina Moscato

Sky Blue FC
USA: Christie Rampone, Jill Loyden, Kelley O’Hara
Mexico: Monica Ocampo
Canada: Sophie Schmidt, Jonelle Filigno

Washington Spirit
USA: Ali Krieger, Ashlyn Harris, Yael Averbuch
Mexico: Renae Cuellar
Canada: Diana Matheson, Robyn Gayle

Western New York Flash
USA: Carli Lloyd, Abby Wambach
Mexico: Veronica Perez
Canada: Selenia Iacchelli


Your account


More in Analysis