Connect with us


Angerer, Marta, Wambach shortlisted for POY

Marta of Brazil
Marta of Brazil

Marta is a finalist for the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year, which she won five times in a row from 2006-10. (Photo Copyright Jeff Kassouf for The Equalizer)

Germany goalkeeper Nadine Angerer, Brazil forward Marta and United States forward Abby Wambach have been shortlisted for the 2013 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award.

Wambach won the award in 2012 for the first time ever after helping the United States to their third straight Olympic gold medal.

Angerer shined for Germany at EURO 2013 and was named UEFA’s European Footballer of the Year. Marta, meanwhile, struggled through injury this season but had 12 goals in 15 games for Tyreso, now into the quarterfinals of the UEFA Champions League.

The three finalists for FIFA World Coach of the Year are Ralf Kellermann (VfL Wolfsburg), Silvia Neid (Germany) and Pia Sundhage (Sweden).

On the men’s side, Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Lionel Messi (Argentina) and Franck Ribery (France) are the three finalists for the Ballon d’Or.

Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United, now retired), Jupp Heynckes (Bayern Munich) and Jurgen Klopp (Borussia Dortmund) are the finalists for Men’s Coach of the Year.

The Puskas Award for goal of the year is down to Zlatan Ibrahimovic (v England), Nemanja Matic (v Porto) and Neymar (v Japan).

The winners will be revealed January 13, 2014, in Zurich.


Your account


More in International