Connect with us


Hamm becomes first woman in Football Hall of Fame

Mia Hamm was inducted into the Football Hall of Fame.

Mia Hamm became the first woman in the Football Hall of Fame with her induction on Tuesday. Hamm was joined by 10 men in Pachuca on Tuesday.

Hamm held the all-time international scoring record for both men and women until Abby Wambach broke the mark in June. Wambach now has 163 goals. Hamm ended her career with 158 goals in 275 matches for the United States.

She won four NCAA championships with North Carolina, and was playing for the U.S. national team by age 15. Hamm was part of the only two U.S. World Cup triumphs in 1991 and 1999, as well as the Olympic gold medal in 1996 and 2004. She also won the 2003 WUSA Founders Cup with the Washington Freedom.

The other inductees for the Football Hall of Fame were:

Luis Fernando Tena and his brother, Alfredo, Bora Milutinovic, Paolo Maldini, George Weah, Jorge “Magico” Gonázalez, Franco Baresi, Alberto “Dumbo” López, Rafael Garza and Renato Cesarini.


Your account


More in International