Connect with us


LdB Malmö clinches 2013 Damallsvenskan title

LdB FC Malmö are 2013 Damallsvenskan league champions.

LdB Malmö have clinched the 2013 Damallsvenskan title after defeating Umeå 2-0 on Sunday. Manon Melis and Sara Gunnarsdottir both scored in the first half to put Malmö six points clear of second place Tyresö with only one game to play.

Tyresö, led by league-leading scorer Christen Press, have already secured second place and a 2014-15 UEFA Champions League spot.

Malmö’s final match of the season is against Mallbacken on Oct. 20, but first they will turn their attention to Norwegian club Lillestrøm in the second leg of their Champions League Round of 32 matchup on Wednesday. Malmö hold a comfortable 3-1 lead after the first goal, having registered three goals awarded.

Malmö have been a team effort in the scoring department en route to their eighth league title. Anja Mittag leads the team with 12 league goals, while Manon Melis has chipped in 11 goals and Ramona Bachmann has added 10. Gunnarsdottir also has eight goals.

Three of the last four Damallsvenskan titles have now been claimed by Malmö, while they finished second last year behind Tyresö.


Your account


More in International