Connect with us

Americans Abroad

Worst-to-first complete: Liverpool win FAWSL title

Liverpool are the champions of the FAWSL. (AP Photo)

The worst-to-first campaign is complete: Liverpool Ladies FC are the champions of England’s FA Women’s Super League.

The FAWSL title comes after two consecutive last-place finishes for Liverpool in the first two seasons of the league. Liverpool are under a new regime in head coach Matt Beard, along with a revamped roster.

Louise Fors finished a penalty kick in the 37th minute and it held up as the winner in a 2-0 victory over second-place Bristol. Katrin Omarsdottir added a second goal for Liverpool in the 79th minute to ice the game. Only a win would have been enough for Bristol (10-3-1, 31 pts.) to claim the title.

Liverpool (12-2-0, 36 pts.) dominated the opening 20 minutes but were unable to find net. Liverpool nearly broke through in the 33rd minute when Amanda DaCosta played Nicole Rolser in behind, but Rolser’s shot was tipped just wide.

Two minutes later, Fara Williams ripped a shot from 20 yards just over the bar as the Reds continued to threaten. And then came the penalty, finished by Fors.

One minute later, Liverpool goalkeeper Rachel Laws came well off her line and Laura Del Rio chipped the out of position keeper, but the ball landed just wide of the far post.

Bristol still finish second, qualifying for the 2014-15 UEFA Champions League.

Americans Whitney Engen and Amanda DaCosta play for Liverpool and both went the full 90 minutes on Sunday.


Liverpool XI: Laws, Engen, Williams, Bonner(C), Bronze, Omarsdottir, Dowie, Fors, Rolser, DaCosta, Schroder

Bristol XI: Chamberlain, Yorston(c), Matthews, McCatty, Sanchon, Windell, Heatherson, Del Rio, James, Rose, Harding


Your account


More in Americans Abroad