Connect with us

Analysis

PRO says penalty call in Seattle was wrong

The Professional Referee Organization (PRO) has determined the Portland Thorns should not have been awarded a penalty kick that led to the only goal in last Saturday’s 1-0 win over the Seattle Reign.  The PRO released a statement Wednesday that reads:

After a pass is made from Christine Sinclair to Allie Long, referee Margaret Domka witnessed Seattle Reign defender Kristen Meier hold Allie Long inside the penalty area to prevent her from gaining possession of the ball, and called a penalty kick.  The available video evidence does not show this hold to have significantly impacted Long’s ability to play the ball prior to being cleared by the Seattle defense, and play should have been allowed to continue.”

Watch the play in question here just after the 1:52:10 mark:

Comments

Your account

MORE EXTRA


More in Analysis