Connect with us


NCAA Championship Sunday: conference champs

NCAA conference championships were handed out across the country on Sunday. Conference winners receive automatic bids to the NCAA tournament. The full field will be announced on Monday. Here are your conference champions, listed alphabetically by conference:

Atlantic-10: La Salle beat VCU 2-1in OT to give head coach Paul Royal his 100th victory. Junior Renee Washington scored the game-winner.

ACC: Virginia routed Maryland 4-0 in the ACC title game, showing national championship caliber form heading into the NCAA postseason. UVA Midfielder Morgan Brian was named tournament MVP. Brian had a goal an an assist in the final in Cary, N.C.

America East: Stony Brook won its first-ever conference title with a 1-0 win over mid-major power Hartford.

Atlantic Sun: Florida Gulf Coast University won its second-straight conference title, beating Mercer 1-0 in OT on a 93rd minute goal from freshman Ally Kasun.

Big 12: Hanna Gilmore scored a brace to lift Baylor to a 4-1 win over TCU.

BIG EAST: Marquette was the first major conference champion of the day, beating Georgetown 1-0 in late, dramatic fashion on a Taylor Madigan goal with 2:23 left in the game after a scrum in the box. This is Marquette’s first-ever BIG EAST title.

Big Sky: Idaho State beat Montana 4-3 in a shootout after a 0-0 draw through two overtimes.

Big South: Radford beat Winthrop 1-0 to win a second-straight conference crown. Rachel Conway scored the game-winner in the 44th minute.

Big Ten: Ohio State defeated Illinois 2-1 to win its third all-time Big Ten title. Senior forward Tiffany Cameron scored both goals for the Buckeyes and now leads the country with nine nine game-winning goals this season.

Big West: Senior midfielder Melissa Fernandez scored a golden goal in the 92nd minute to lift Cal State Northridge to its first-ever conference title in a 1-0 win over Cal State Fullerton.

Colonial Athletic Association: Sophomore Sam Scolarici scored in the second OT to give Hofstra a 2-1 win over UNC Wilmington.

Conference-USA: Central Florida defeated Tulsa 2-0 in the final. Nicolette Radovcic and Jennifer Martin scored for UCF.

Horizon League: Krissy Dorre scored in the second OT to give Milwualkee its fifth-straight conference championship.

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Loyola (Maryland) upset top-seeded Marist in Poughkeepsie, N.Y. 2-1. MAAC Offensive Player of the Year Nichole Schiro scored the eventual game-winner.

Mid-American Conference: Miami (Ohio) defeated Central Michigan 2-1. Sophomore Hailey Pleshakov scored the game-winner.

Missouri Valley Conference: Illinois State routed Indiana State 5-1. Five different players scored for Illinois State.

Mountain West: San Diego State improved to 19-1-1 with a 2-0 victory over New Mexico. Kelsey Booth and Sarah Halverson scored on each side of halftime for the Aztecs.

Northeast Conference: The Long Island University-Brooklyn Blackbirds won their second-straight title, defeating Saint Francis (PA) 1-0 on an 87th minute goal from Toni Smith.

Ohio Valley Conference: Texas-Martin also won a second-straight conference crown, defeating Austin Peay 2-0. Alyssa Curtis and Midori Sera each scored for UT-Martin.

Patriot League: Jenna Raepple scored in the 83rd minute to lead Colgate to a 1-0 upset over Navy.

SEC: Florida won its league-leading 10th Southeast Conference title with a comfortable 3-0 win over Auburn. Junior forward Adriana Leon put Florida ahead in the 27th minute and Erika Tymrak and Havana Solaun added a goal apiece.

Southern Conference: Sydnie Van Curen scored the game-winning PK in the seventh round of penalty kicks to lift Georgia Southern to its first-ever SoCon title.Georgia Southern and Furman played to a scoreless draw in regulation and two OTs.

Southland Conference: The Stephen F. Austin Ladyjacks (best nickname out there?) beat Lamar 2-1 off goals from Chelsea Raymond and Zuri Prince. The Ladyjacks feature Kylie Louw, who played for South Africa at the 2012 Olympics.

Southwestern Athletic Conference: Mississippi Valley State beat Jackson State 2-0 thanks to a brace from junior forward Shanesse Spratt.

Summit League: Oakland won its record eighth title with a 2-0 win over Fort Wayne in Brookings, S.D., a soccer mecca.

Sun Belt Conference: Amber Haggerty scored the loan goal to lift North Texas (“The Mean Green” — another candidate for best nickname) to a 1-0 win over Florida International.

Western Athletic Conference: Utah State beat Denver on an early own goal. That’s WAC!

The following conferences don’t have tournaments, but the regular season champion earns a bid to the NCAA tournament:

Ivy League: Princeton

Pacific-12: Stanford

West Coast Conference: BYU


Your account


More in Analysis