Connect with us


Six former U.S. Women's National Team players up for Hall of Fame selection in 2011

U.S. Soccer released the ballots for 2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame inductions on Thursday and they include six former U.S. Women’s National Team players.  Shannon MacMillan, Cindy Parlow, Tiffany Roberts, Danielle Slaton and Tisha Venturini-Hoch are all on the player ballot and Linda Hamilton is on the veteran ballot.

It is the first year of eligibility for Slaton.  MacMillan just missed out on being inducted in 2010.  Here are some quick USWNT statistics on the six former U.S. internationals on this year’s ballot:

  • Shannon MacMillan – 176 caps, 114 games started, 10,395 minutes, 60 goals, 50 assists, 170 points.  Part of the 1996 Gold Medal team, 1999 World Cup championship team and 2000 Silver Medal team.
  • Cindy Parlow – 158 caps, 101 games started, 8,533 minutes, 75 goals, 35 assists, 185 points.  Part of the 1996 Gold Medal team, the 1999 World Cup championship team, the 2000 Silver Medal team and the 2004 Gold Medal team.
  • Tiffany Roberts – 110 caps, 60 starts, 6,072 minutes, seven goals, nine assists, 23 points.  Part of the 1996 Gold Medal team and the 1999 World Cup championship team.
  • Danielle Slaton – 43 caps, 26 starts, 2,688 minutes, one goal, three assists, five points.  Part of 2000 Silver Medal team.
  • Tisha Venturini-Hoch – 132 caps, 100 starts, 9,015 minutes, 44 goals, 21 assists, 109 points.  Part of 1996 Gold Medal Team and 1999 World Cup championship Team.
  • Linda Hamilton – 71 caps, 63 stars, 5,581 minutes, one goal, one assist, three points.  Part of 1991 World Cup championship team.

Check out the criteria for being nominated to the National Soccer Hall of Fame here.  Below is the full list of nominees with descriptions on the voting process:

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot

Chris Armas *
Mike Burns
Mauricio Cienfuegos
Raul Diaz Arce
Marco Etcheverry
Robin Fraser
Chris Henderson
Cobi Jones *
Jason Kreis *
Roy Lassiter
Carlos Llamosa *
Shannon MacMillan
Joe-Max Moore
Victor Nogueira
Peter Nowak
John O’Brien
Cindy Parlow
Eddie Pope *
Tiffany Roberts
Danielle Slaton *
Earnie Stewart
Steve Trittschuh ^
Carlos Valderrama
Tisha Venturini-Hoch
Peter Vermes
* First year of eligibility      ^ Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran
ballot in 2012

In addition to the Player ballot, voting is also underway in the Veteran Player and
Builder categories. Ten players are up for selection on the Veteran ballot, which is
voted on only by current Hall of Famers. Voters can name up to five candidates, and
the top vote-getter will be elected as long as he or she appears on a minimum of 50
percent of the ballots. If no Veteran appears on 50 percent of the ballots then no
one will be elected on the 2011 ballot. More than one candidate may be elected in
the event of a tie.

Eligibility for the Veteran ballot is the same as the Player ballot except that a
player must be retired for more than 10 years. Further, the U.S. National Team cap
requirement is lowered from 20 to 10 if the 10 caps came prior to 1990.

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran Ballot

Desmond Armstrong
George Best
Julio Cantillo
Teofilo Cubillas
John Doyle
Linda Hamilton
Bill McPherson
Shep Messing
Bruce Murray
Glenn Myernick

The 2011 Builder ballot includes seven individuals selected by a screening committee
and follows the same procedures for election as the Veteran ballot, although the
voting pool is expanded to also include select soccer administrators.

Builders are nominated by making their mark in the soccer community in a non-playing
capacity while sustaining a major and positive impact on U.S. Soccer on a national
or professional level for 10 years. Referees must serve as a FIFA referee for at
least seven years to be eligible.

2011 National Soccer Hall of Fame Builder Ballot

Chuck Blazer
Bob Contiguglia
Tony DiCicco
Bob Gansler
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth
Sigi Schmid


Your account


More in News