Connect with us


Brisbane wins 2011 W-League Grand Final

Brisbane Roar defeated Sydney FC 2-1 on Friday to win the 2011 W-league Grand Final at Campbelltown Stadium.  The win avenges Brisbane’s loss to Sydney in last year’s Grand Final.

Lisa DeVanna, who will soon join WPS’ magicTalk SC/Washington Freedom for preseason, scored the game-winning goal for Brisbane in the 66th minute.  The Roar jumped out to an early lead in the ninth minute when Tameka Butt, who afterward was named player of the match, headed in Lana Harch’s cross.

Sydney FC would respond in the 35th minute when Kylie Ledbrook chipped Brisbane goalkeeper Casey Dumont to equalize, but DeVanna’s late winner proved to be the difference for the Roar, which reversed last year’s final.

Be sure to check out Ann Odong’s recap of the game here.  She provides some exclusive quotes, photos and insight from the match site.


Your account


More in International