Connect with us


Press wins MAC Hermann Trophy

Stanford University senior forward Christen Press has won the 2010 MAC Hermann trophy.  The award is given out yearly by the Missouri Athletic Club to honor college’s top player.

Notre Dame junior forward Melissa Henderson finished second in the voting, while California senior forward Alex Morgan finished third in the voting.

In 2010, Press led the Cardinal in scoring with 26 goals and eight assists (60 pts.).  She also led the nation in goals and points.  In four years at Stanford, Press tallied 71 goals, 41 assists and 183 points.  All of those are Stanford career records.

Last year, teammate Kelley O’Hara won the 2009 MAC Hermann Trophy.  O’Hara went on to become the No. 3-overall pick in the 2010 Women’s Professional Soccer Draft when FC Gold Pride selected her.  She would go on to win the 2010 WPS Championship with FC Gold Pride before the team folded in November.  O’Hara recently signed with the Boston Breakers.

The Western New York Flash hold the No. 1 pick in the 2011 WPS Draft and has already proclaimed its intent to use the pick on Morgan.  That will make Press follow in O’Hara’s footsteps even more as the second-straight Stanford forward to win the MAC Hermann Trophy and not be selected first in the WPS Draft.  The draft takes place Friday, Jan. 14 at 1 p.m. in Baltimore, Md.

The first round order of the 2011 WPS Draft is as follows:

1. Western New York Flash
2. Philadelphia Independence * via trade
3. Atlanta Beat   * via trade
4. Washington Freedom
5. Philadelphia Independence
6. Boston Breakers
7. Atlanta Beat   * via trade
8. Western New York Flash * supplemental pick (expansion team)


Your account


More in NCAA