Connect with us


Algarve Cup set for March 2-9

The 12 teams that will compete in the 2011 Algarve Cup in Portugal have been revealed, with Group A featuring four of the world’s top squads.  The tournament will take place March 2-9.

No. 1-world ranked United States Women’s National Team will play against World Cup qualifier Japan (No. 5), as well as the traditionally strong Norway (No. 7) and Finland (No.17) in Group A.

Group B will feature favorite Sweden facing off with China, Iceland and Denmark, while Group C remains as the weakest group as in past years.  Host Portugal will feature against Chile, Romania and Wales in Group C play.

The United States won the 2010 Algarve Cup, defeating Germany 3-2 in the final.

The Cyprus Cup will take place at the same time (March 3-9), although participating teams have not yet been announced.  Scotland, England and the Netherlands are expected to participate as hosts.  Canada won the 2010 Cyprus Cup 1-0 over New Zealand last March.

2011 Algarve Cup (March 2-9)

Group A: United States (FIFA World Ranking: 1), Japan (5), Norway (7), Finland (17)
Group B: Sweden (4), China (12), Iceland (16), Denmark (10)
Group C: Portugal (40), Chile (51), Romania (35), Wales (49)

Check out the official release here.


Your account


More in International