Connect with us


South Korea tops Australia 2-1 in Peace Cup final

South Korea defeated Australia 2-1 Saturday to win the Peace Queen Cup final on home soil.

Kim Narae opened the scoring for the hosts in the 16th minute and Jeon Gaeul added a second for South Korea in the 56th minute.  That prompted Kate Gill to score for Australia just one minute later and cut South Korea’s lead in half.  It was not enough for the Matildas, however, who fell short of the Peace Queen Cup championship after winning both Group B games over Mexico and Chinese Taipei.

As a mere consolation, Gill won the Golden Shoe for the tournament.  The goal was her third of the competition.

For an in-depth match report, check out Australian Four Four Two here.

Box Score:

2010 Peace Queen Cup – Final
Korea Republic 2 (Kim Narae 16′, Jeon Gaeul 56′)
Westfield Matildas 1 (Kate Gill 57′)

Saturday, 23 October 2010
Suwon World Cup Stadium, Suwon, Korea Republic

Westfield Matildas line-up: Melissa BARBIERI (gk), Clare POLKINGHORNE (Teigen ALLEN 84′), Servet UZUNLAR, Kim CARROLL, Lauren COLTHORPE (Aivi LUIK 71′), Collette MCCALLUM, Sally SHIPARD, Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, Kyah SIMON, Caitlin MUNOZ (Tameka BUTT 46′), Kate GILL

Substitutes not used: Lydia WILLIAMS (gk), Thea SLATYER, , Leena KHAMIS, Sam KERR


Your account


More in International