FIFA names 10-person shortlist for 2016 best coach award

The Equalizer Staff November 1, 2016 22
John Herdman is nominated for the FIFA Best Women's Coach award. (Photo Courtesy Canada Soccer)

John Herdman is nominated for the FIFA Best Women’s Coach award. (Photo Courtesy Canada Soccer)

FIFA named its 10-person shortlist for its annual coach of the year award, and four of them are no longer with their teams.

Philippe Bergeroo, Vadao, Vera Pauw and Silvia Neid made the shortlist. U.S. coach Jill Ellis, the 2015 FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year, also made the list despite the United States’ quarterfinal exit at the Rio 2016 Olympics, the Americans’ worst-ever finish at a major tournament. Canada coach John Herdman is also up for the award after his team’s bronze-medal finish.

Bergeroo was fired from his post as coach of France’s women’s national team after another failure to make the podium at a major tournament in August at the Olympics. Pauw recently left her post as coach of South Africa, and on Tuesday, the Brazilian federation announced that Vadao has been replace as head coach by Emily Lima.

Silvia Neid stepped down as head coach of Germany after guiding the her country to its first Olympic gold medal in women’s soccer in August. The change was planned a year in advance, and brought to an end an 11-year tenure which included a World Cup title and Olympic gold medal.

This year’s award changed names to the “FIFA Best Women’s Coach” after FIFA earlier this year split from France Football and the Ballon d’Or for the annual awards. The change sees 50 percent of the decision based on the votes of all captains and head coaches of women’s national teams around the globe. The other 50 percent will be defined by the result of an online public ballot with football fans and the submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives from the six continents.

The 10 coaches nominated for the 2016 award are:

* Philippe Bergeroo (France/French national team)
* Jill Ellis (USA/US national team)
* John Herdman (England/Canadian national team)
* Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team)
* Vera Pauw (Netherlands/South African national team)
* Gérard Prêcheur (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
* Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team)
* Oswaldo Vadão (Brazil/Brazilian national team)
* Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Swiss national team)
* Thomas Wörle (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

  • guest

    perhaps … Silvia Neid after coaching Germany to first Olympic Gold Medal

    typical FIFA award list based on recognized names not coaching results

    • mockmook

      In your opinion, what successful coaches were left off of the list?

      • Steglitz49

        Francisco Neto and Anna Signeul.

  • Kevin


    • Steglitz49

      As noted elsewhere, neither Bergeroo nor Ellis belong on this list. Anna Signeul of Scotland or Francisco Neto, head coach of Portugal’s WNT, could feel hard done by.

      I can only presume that the reigning COTY is put on the list as a courtesy.

      Though Silvia Neid ought to be the forerunner, I have a soft spot for Martina Voss-Tecklenburg because of her name.

    • Arcie Tillydee

      Exactly. In 2016, she’s the coach who did so little with so much.

  • guest

    jill ellis deserves it for her genius decision to include megan rapinoe on the olympic roster who hadn’t played in nine months and was only 15 minutes fit. then proceeded to waste two subs on her. a true innovator.

  • Hood

    What is frightening is the procedure. Public ballot will have a huge influence as of this time. So the winners will not be the best or the deserved ones of the year but the most popular ones.

    So Ronaldo will win it for the men the next 20 years. If Morgan will make it into the top 10 she will be the winner.

    • mockmook

      It isn’t clear from this article how much weight the Public alone carries.

      Public&Media == 50%

      I suspect the Public will only tip the scales in cases where the other factors can’t decide on a clear choice.

      • Hood

        I hope you are right, but it’s FIFA. So you never know.

        Why not having an expert price and a popularity price. Mixing things up is not the right direction

      • Steglitz49

        Not true. If you look at some of the voting in the past, the media tipped the balance on more than one occassion.

        In short, the US with its 315m inhabitants will claim these POTY for ever, till China get going.

        • Lindsey

          America has a hard enough time trying to get people to vote in the Presidential election. Do you honestly think that the American population cares enough about women’s soccer players to vote for an award that almost no one outside of the women’s soccer realm knows about? The only concern I would think is if there are multiple American players up for the award it will turn into a popularity contest akin to the weekly NWSL fan voted awards.

          • Steglitz49

            315m is still 230m more than Germany and 310m more than Norway.

            Thus, if even only 2% of the US were interested that is more than all of Norway. For Germany it is like 28%, that is still a big advantage.

          • Lindsey

            I can guarantee now that there won’t be anywhere near 6.3 million Americans voting for an award ceremony that is unknown to casual fans.

          • Steglitz49

            Given how popular WoSo is as a participation sport in the US, why do you expect people in Norway to be 60x more interested?

            I doubt that Germans are 4x more interested than Americans.

          • Som Termanni

            Imagine if Jill Ellis legally changed her name to “Ashlyn Harris”.

    • Steglitz49

      Given that there are 315m Americans and only 85m Germans, 9m turnips and 5m Norwegians, the answer is given. Forget Ada Hegerberg or Jessica Samuelsson, and instead welcome back the Veterans.

  • Silver Frost

    Neid won the biggest tournament of the year. She deserves it. GER did not dominate like they usually do, at least in the group stage. Then, the glorious final, and Olympic gold.

  • Som Termanni

    Bergeroo nominated for flailing out of every competition and blaming his players, but not Bini for taking a job even China’s most successful women’s coach ever didn’t want, edging Sweden in Olympic group, and losing 1-0 to the Olympic gold medalists. Vadao nominated for failing to medal on his home turf and effectively endangering his entire program, but not Stajic for being nearly equal to Brazil with players from an semi-pro league half the age—in a few cases a third the age—of Vadao’s international stars.

    When Japan struggles, it’s a shame that the rest of Asia simply stops existing.

    • Steglitz49

      Both Neto of Portugal and Signeul of Scotland have a right to be peeved.

  • Ethan

    Off-topic: Menges and McDonald are in for Hinkle and Klingenberg, both of whom have injury issues.